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Prescription versus Over the Counter (OTC) Hearing Aids Guide 
ASL Informational Video 

The Food & Drug Administration (FDA) recently created a new category of Over the Counter (OTC) 
hearing aids, enabling consumers with perceived mild to moderate hearing impairment to purchase 
hearing aids directly from stores or online retailers without the need for a medical exam, prescription, 
or a fitting adjustment by an audiologist. This guide provides important information for people 
considering OTC Hearing aids.  

Hearing Evaluation: A hearing evaluation is required for prescription hearing aids and is highly 
recommended before purchasing OTC hearing aids. An evaluation will determine whether OTC 
hearings aids are a good option for you.  

Cost: OTC hearing aids are not covered by insurance. Coverage for prescription hearing aids will be 
$1500 per hearing aid every three years1. Vermont State employees’ coverage will start in January 
2023 (including retirees), and everyone else’s coverages start in January 2024.  

Funding for OTC Hearing Aids: Vermont Center for Independent Living (VCIL) offers limited 
financial assistance through the Sue Williams Freedom Fund (SWFF). Vermonters working with 
HireAbility may also be eligible for funding.  

Whichever direction you choose to obtain hearing aids, if problems arise, you must go to whoever you 
obtain the hearing aids from whether it’s the store (retail or online) where you purchased them, 
manufacturer, hearing aid dispenser, audiologist, and/or ENT2. If folks choose to bring OTC hearing 
aids to a professional or need support related to them, there will be a professional fee charged. 

 

Prescription Hearing aids   
• All ages.   
• All hearing losses. 
• Must be fitted by licensed 

professionals (hearing aid dispensers, 
audiologists, ENT3). 

• The Hearing Aid Bill of 2022 only 
covers prescription hearing aids.  

• Interview about the Hearing Aid Bill.  
 

 

 

 
1 $1,500 may or may not be the full cost of hearing aids. A set of hearing aids can range from $900 to $6000 or more. 
2 ENT stands for Ear, Nose, and Throat doctor. They are also called otolaryngologists. 
3 No referral is required for hearing aid dispensers or audiologists. Hearing aid dispensers cannot fit anyone under 18. If it’s a person 
under 18, they must be seen by an audiologist. (ENTs don’t fit hearing aids either.) 

OTC hearing aids 
• Over the age of 18. 
• Designed for mild to moderate 

hearing loss. 
• Available without supervision, 

prescription, or licensed 
professional. 

• Self-assessment. 
• FDA oversees online hearing aid 

dispensers and amplifier dealers 
who may or may not be taking 
advantage of individuals with hearing 
loss. 

https://youtu.be/ITsBoPo_B1g
https://vcil.org/services/sue-williams-freedom-fund/
https://legislature.vermont.gov/bill/status/2022/H.266#:%7E:text=H.266%20%28Act%20108%29%20An%20act%20relating%20to%20health,insurance%20coverage%20for%20hearing%20aids%20May%2011%2C%202022
https://youtu.be/Kp9DPVCRN8w
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Resources: 

 

Information: 

1 Text - S.670 - 115th Congress (2017-2018): Over-the-Counter Hearing Aid Act of 
2017 | Congress.gov | Library of Congress  

2 Over the Counter (OTC) Hearing Devices - Hearing Loss Association of America 
- HLAA 

3 American Speech -Language-Hearing Association – ASHA  
a. https://www.asha.org/aud/otc-hearing-aid-toolkit/otc-hearing-aid-faq/ 
b. https://www.asha.org/siteassets/audiology/when-to-stop-using-an-otc-

hearing-aid-infographic.pdf 
4 Independence Fund | OPPORTUNITIES CREDIT UNION | Fair Affordable 

Financing For All Vermonters (oppsvt.org) 
 

Starting in 2024, for Vermonters covered by health insurance marketplace plans, the 
cost of prescription hearing aids will be covered by insurance rather than paid out-of-
pocket.  

5 Federal Government Approves Expanded Coverage in Vermont’s Essential 
Health Benefits Benchmark Plan | Office of Governor Phil Scott 

Complaint: 

 OTC hearing aids: 

6 Get help with a consumer complaint - Office of the Vermont Attorney General 
7 Consumer Complaint Coordinators | FDA 

Hearing Care Professionals: 

ENTs: BMP Complaint Form_01122018.pdf (healthvermont.gov) 

Audiologists and Hearing Aid Dispensers: Complaints, Conduct & Discipline 
(vermont.gov) 

 

 

https://www.congress.gov/bill/115th-congress/senate-bill/670/text
https://www.congress.gov/bill/115th-congress/senate-bill/670/text
https://www.hearingloss.org/hearing-help/technology/otc-hearing-devices/
https://www.hearingloss.org/hearing-help/technology/otc-hearing-devices/
https://www.asha.org/aud/otc-hearing-aid-toolkit/
https://www.asha.org/aud/otc-hearing-aid-toolkit/otc-hearing-aid-faq/
https://www.asha.org/siteassets/audiology/when-to-stop-using-an-otc-hearing-aid-infographic.pdf
https://www.asha.org/siteassets/audiology/when-to-stop-using-an-otc-hearing-aid-infographic.pdf
https://www.oppsvt.org/independence-fund/
https://www.oppsvt.org/independence-fund/
https://governor.vermont.gov/press-release/federal-government-approves-expanded-coverage-vermont%E2%80%99s-essential-health-benefits
https://governor.vermont.gov/press-release/federal-government-approves-expanded-coverage-vermont%E2%80%99s-essential-health-benefits
https://ago.vermont.gov/cap/consumer-complaint/
https://www.fda.gov/safety/report-problem-fda/consumer-complaint-coordinators
https://www.healthvermont.gov/sites/default/files/documents/pdf/BMP_Complaint%20Form_01122018.pdf
https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/complaints-conduct-discipline/
https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/complaints-conduct-discipline/

